Groundwater Foundation Accepting Nominations For National Awards

The Groundwater Foundation, a national nonprofit organization dedicated to educating the public about the nature and value of groundwater, is accepting nominations for its four national awards.

All nominations must be received by July 14.

These awards honor individuals who create a legacy of groundwater protection through local action, education, government service, and youth leadership. The awards include:

The Vern Haverstick Groundwater Hero Award was established in 1995 to showcase groundwater protection activities by the unsung, yet heroic, efforts of community residents. The goals of this award are to thank the individual for groundwater service, spread the word about groundwater, and inspire groundwater leadership in others. Any member of the public is eligible for this award.

The Edith Stevens Groundwater Educator Award was created in 1997 to recognize educators who understand the importance of groundwater, motivate others to protect groundwater, and lead by personal example. The goals of this award are to spread the word about groundwater, inspire others to become involved in groundwater education, provide educators with successful role models, and promote education as an effective groundwater protection method. Anyone actively involved with the implementation and delivery of groundwater education programs is eligible for this award.

This award is named for Edith Stevens who helped create the Water Resources Education Network in Pennsylvania and has been active participant in a variety of environmental programs for her local watershed and the Pennsylvania League of Women Voters.

The E. Benjamin Nelson Government Service Award was established in 1998 to recognize and honor an elected or appointed public official who has significantly advanced environmental and groundwater stewardship. The goals of the award are to inspire similar service in other government officials and spread the word nationally about the value of groundwater as a natural resource. Any government official on the local, state or federal level; elected, appointed, or career civil service is eligible to receive this award.

The W.C. Foxley-E.P. Taiganides Youth Award for Excellence and Leadership in Groundwater was established in 1996 to honor a student for his/her dedication to promoting local groundwater protection. In addition, the student’s actions must have the ability to be replicated by other students and the potential to empower his/her community to protect groundwater. The goals of this award are to recognize a student or group of students for their groundwater stewardship, inspire others to become involved in groundwater protection, and demonstrate the effectiveness of youth involvement in environmental issues. Any student in the U.S. age 12-17 is eligible for this award.

Award recipients will receive complimentary travel, lodging, and registration for The Groundwater Foundation’s Annual Conference November 2-4, at the Lied Conference Center in Nebraska City, Nebraska. The award recipients will be honored at an Awards Luncheon held November 4 in conjunction with the Conference.

The 2005 National Awards are sponsored in part by CH2M Hill, Central Nebraska Public Power and Irrigation District, W.C. Foxley, and E.P. Taiganides.

For more information visit The Groundwater Foundation’s Awards webpage, or contact the Foundation at or 402-434-2740.

(Courtesy POWR’s Watershed Weekly)


Go To Preceding Article     Go To Next Article

Return to This PA Environment Digest's Main Page