ClearWater Conservancy Recognizes Volunteers At Annual Meeting

ClearWater Conservancy in Centre County held its board election and honored its volunteers at its annual meeting November 21at Mountain View Country Club.

Incumbent Board Candidates Brad Chovitand Kathleen Yurchak were re-elected to serve from 2014-2016. Lynn Hutcheson, the PA Senior Environment Corps liaison, was elected to a one-year appointment. New candidates Steve Maruszewski and Rob Veronesi were elected to serve from 2014-2016.

(Photo: Rod Stahl of Stahl Sheaffer Engineering, Kristen Saacke Blunk, Judi Sittler, Jennifer Shuey and Ford Stryker)

The George Harvey Memorial Spring Creek Heritage Award, given jointly by ClearWater Conservancy and the Spring Creek Chapter of Trout Unlimited, was awarded to Kristen Saacke-Blunk in recognition of her 20 years of passionate, creative, and inspirational service to the Spring Creek Watershed.

The Community Conservation Commendation went to Stahl Sheaffer Engineering in recognition of their generous donation of over $50,000 of in-kind engineering and construction oversight services to the Musser Gap Greenway Project.

The Donald Hamer Leadership Award was Awarded to Ford Stryker in recognition of his representation of Penn State University on the Board of Directors for 12 years and his dedicated personal leadership on ClearWater's Executive Committee and the Otto's Golf-Fest committee.

The Barbara Fisher Volunteer of the Year Award went to our Legends of Flyfishing: Mark Belden, Joe Humphreys, Greg Hoover and the late Vance McCullough in recognition of their team effort to raise awareness, support, and money for ClearWater's work in riparian conservation and restoration.

For more information, visit the ClearWater Conservancy website.


Go To Preceding Article     Go To Next Article

Return to This PA Environment Digest's Main Page