Brodhead Watershed Assn. Recognizes Monroe Conservation District Staff

The Brodhead Watershed Association will this year give its annual Stream Saver Award to the Monroe County Conservation District technical staff— Orianna Richards, John Motz, Victor Motts, Patricia Attardo and Drew Wagner.

Collectively these individuals represent over a century of experience in implementing State Law and regulations enacted to conserve our soil and water resources. This important job in the Brodhead Watershed, where the streams are among the finest in the world, is too often thankless.

(Photo: Monroe District technical staff employees Victor Motts, Trish Attardo, Orianna Richards, and John Motz.)

Due to the watershed’s special protection status, regulations for earth disturbance and stormwater management are more stringent than they are in other parts of the state where unregulated activities in our past have in some cases left streams so impacted they no longer support life.

The Conservation District staff is committed to working with anyone interested in developing projects requiring earth disturbance, wetland impacts and stream encroachments to ensure they can achieve their economic goals while maintaining water quality.

Every watershed resident can be proud of their efforts. During the height of the real estate boom of the 80’s, 90’s and early 2000’s, Monroe County’s population doubled and yet our wetlands were protected and our watersheds still attain their designated uses. This can be directly attributed to State Laws and regulations that the Conservation District administer on our behalf.

The BWA thanks Orianna, John, Victor, Trish and Drew. We are proud to acknowledge you as Exceptional Value Stream Savers.


Corbett Approves Bills On Stream Buffers, Carbon Plan

Wetlands Will Treat Water For 2 Allegheny County Parks

Latest From The Chesapeake Bay Journal


Go To Preceding Article     Go To Next Article

Return to This PA Environment Digest's Main Page