PA Water Companies Honor FERC Commissioner Robert F. Powelson With James McGirr Kelly Award

The National Association of Water Companies PA Chapter Tuesday recognized Commissioner Robert F. Powelson of the  Federal Energy Regulatory Commission with its James McGirr Kelly Award for Excellence. 

The NAWC honored Powelson during its awards luncheon at the Pennsylvania Chapter’s Annual Meeting in Harrisburg.

The James McGirr Kelly Award for Excellence is the highest honor bestowed by the NAWC, Pennsylvania Chapter. The industry association presents the award each year to a resident of Pennsylvania who most exemplifies dedication to promoting the availability of safe drinking water in the Commonwealth.

“This award reflects our industry’s sincere gratitude to Commissioner Powelson for his years of dedicated public service and advocacy for policies that promote a healthy environment and reinvestment in infrastructure to ensure safe and reliable water and wastewater service for all Pennsylvanians,” said NAWC Pennsylvania Chapter Chairman David Kaufman.

Commissioner Powelson came to FERC from the PA Public Utility Commission, where he served since June 2008, and led as Chairman from February 24, 2011 - May 7, 2015.

In addition, Powelson is past president of the National Association of Regulatory Utility Commissioners where he also was a member of the Board of Directors and served as chairman of the Committee on Water.

During his time at the PUC and NARUC, Powelson became a nationally recognized leader for encouraging legislators, regulators, and public utilities to adopt “best practices” to accelerate the replacement and upgrading of utility infrastructure to provide safe and reliable service.

“Under his leadership at the PUC, Powelson led Pennsylvania to become one of the most innovative regulatory environments in the country,” Kaufman said. “His support and advocacy for accelerated infrastructure replacement maintained the water and wastewater industry’s momentum, unified our efforts to improve quality of life, reinforced our responsibility to care for our common environment, and created jobs that stimulated the economy.”

“I am extremely honored to receive the James McGirr Kelly Award for Excellence from the Pennsylvania Chapter of the National Association of Water Companies,” Powelson said. “As the only public utility whose product is ingested, water was always of special importance to me as a regulator. Pennsylvania has long been seen as an innovative regulatory environment for utilities, in particular water utilities, and I’m proud to have played a small part in maintaining and advancing that reputation.”

Past award winners include: 2017 Patti Kay Wisniewski, DEP, 2016 Rep. John A. Maher (R-Allegheny), Majority Chair of the House Environmental Resources and Energy Committee, 2014 Rep. Robert Godshall, 2013 Erik A. Ross, long-time advocate for the Association, 2012 former DEP Executive Secretary John Hines, 2011 John Hanger, DEP Secretary, 2010 former PUC Commissioner Kim Pizzingrilli, 2009 Rep. Bud George, 2008 Rick Rogers, U.S. EPA Region 3, 2007 Paul K. Marchetti, 2005 Rep. Carole Rubley, 2004 Terrance J. Fitzpatrick, former Chair PUC, 2003 Fredrick A. Marrocco, DEP, 2002 David E. Hess, DEP Secretary, 2001 John M. Quain, former Chair PUC, 2000 Sen. Raphael J. Musto, 1999 Walter A. Lyon, 1998 Michael D. Klein, 1997 David A. Long, PhD, 1996 Gov. Tom Ridge, 1995 Sen. David J. Brightbill, 1994 Wendell F. Holland, 1993 William R. Shane, 1992 William R. Lloyd, 1991 Edith D. Stevens, 1990 Dr. Ruth Patrick, 1989 Gov. Robert P. Casey, 1988 Sen. D. Michael Fisher, 1987 George I. Bloom, 1986 Clifford L. Jones, DER Secretary, 1985 Dr. Maurice K. Goddard, DER Secretary, and in 1984 Gov. Dick Thornburgh.

The NAWC Pennsylvania Chapter’s Annual Meeting precedes “Drinking Water Week” in Pennsylvania, which begins on May 6, 2018, and featured presentations on water and wastewater issues by federal and state governmental officials, and panel discussions by industry executives, and officials from the PUC and Department of Environmental Protection.

(Photo: NAWC-PA Chairman David Kaufman presents James McGirr Kelly Award to honoree Robert Powelson, commissioner of the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission.)


Penn State Master Watershed Steward Program Receives Governor’s Award

Loyalhanna Watershed Assn Lauded For Children’s Outdoor Education

PA School District Wins Environmental Award For Propane Buses

Pittsburgh Mayor To Celebrate Frick Environmental Center Living Building Certification

Waterways Conservation Officers Receive Awards

Related Story:

PUC Highlights Drinking Water Week In PA, Touts Investments In Replacing Aging Facilities, Lead Lines

Action Required:

Who Will Be PA’s Official State Amphibian?  The Eastern Hellbender Or Wehrle’s Salamander?  Time To Weigh In

[Posted: May 1, 2018]


Go To Preceding Article     Go To Next Article

Return to This PA Environment Digest's Main Page